Thrift Store Farmhouse Table

Table Process

Farmhouse tables with light wood and trestle or pedestal bases are my favourite style for dining and I was determined to make it work in our small kitchen and on a small budget. Many tables in the market aren’t narrow enough to fit our space so when I came across this one at a thrift store I knew it would work after a major refinishing job.

Thrift Store Farmhouse Table

Thrift Store Table BeforeIt took hours and hours of scraping and sanding until I was able to get it right down to the wood so that I could stain it a light driftwood grey.IMG_3697


For the pedestals I took an electric sander to get rid of all that varnish and gloss to reveal the solid wood below. I am not a perfectionist when it comes to furniture refinishing in our house because I’d rather get the job done and I know that it’s going to be subject to heavy use and abuse.
before and after pedestals IMG_5502

Thrift Store Farmhouse Table Refinished DetailPedestal TableThe next step is going to be constructing a banquette to go along wall which is why having a pedestal base was important to make it easy to get around the table.
Limelight Hydrangea & Boston Ferns

You can also check out this table featured on Apartment Therapy.

Featured on Apartment Therapy

12 thoughts on “Thrift Store Farmhouse Table”

  1. hi there. popped on over from apartment therapy. wanted to see what kind of stain you used since I am looking to do a similar project on a similar, thrifted table. thanks!

  2. I am so impressed by what you did with the table!!! So many people would have walked right past that great piece and never looked back. You are a genius in your vision for it and it turned out perfectly. I love it, what a find! I admire your hard work, tenacity and the hours you put in to reinvent this lovely table. That wasn’t easy…

    1. Donna, thank you for your kind words!!! I was definitely happy to find it because otherwise I was going to attempting building one so I had a higher chance of success with refinishing instead. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

  3. Beautiful table. Really lovely job. I’ve been doing wood finishing and vintage refurbishing for years so I know the work you put into it.
    I think with the right decor surrounding it, it would be absolutely stunning! (sorry, I just don’t think that tile floor does anything for the style of table). Have you thought about doing a wood accent wall or something along that line for a more rustic look suited to that table?

    1. Hi Beth, thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I would love to replace that ceramic floor if we had the budget but instead I’m working with what I’ve got. That’s a good idea for the wall but I’ve already got an upholstered banquette in the works that will fill some of the space of that wall once I finally finish it! You must have a lot of nice pieces of furniture if you’ve been at refinishing for years.

  4. i love it. we have a similar table but it totally wrong color for our new kitchen reno. the color you chose is perfect. as for the table top, is it solid wood. I wasn’t sure about ours how would I tell? the base is though.

  5. Hi Michele, I know how everything can look a bit off after starting to change a few things! If your table top is veneer you can probably tell when you open up the table to put in the leaves or if you look at the bottom and see the raw edge where the wood was cut. Even if it’s a veneer you can refinish it. This isn’t solid wood but the veneer is good quality and was fine with rough scraping and an electric sander. Just go for it and worst case if you mess up the top you could do planks on top of the solid base you have.

  6. Your table is gorgeous! I found a similar table (top only–no leaves, no legs/base) and brought it home for free! The top has stenciling on it, but I see no way I can preserve or restore that. Mainly, I’ve been scouring online sites to figure out what type of legs could go with it, and I had begun to think probably pedestals, and when I saw yours I knew for sure. Now to find them without buying new. The table without any leaves only measures about 4′ X 3′, so I’m not sure how big they should be. Anyway, great job on the piece and it makes eager to get going on mine!
    Linda

Leave a Reply

